top of page

LeBron 18s The Ultimate Wear Test

Updated: Jul 21, 2022

How has it been after 365 days & 70 basketball courts? How did they hold up after all time?

Let’s see if we can find any battle damage & see if there are any parts that have worn down.


The Wear Test

These shoes lasted for 365 days while we are shooting -Gotta Hoop Em All- and hooped on 70 different basketball courts.


These shoes have seen every different court surface as they have been through water, mud, rain, sand, bitumen, asphalt, concrete & indoor courts.


Primarily these are an indoor shoe, but I have used them mostly outdoors.


Shoe Upper


First, let us look at the knit over the top of the shoe. It has held up surprisingly well. I

was really impressed with the knitted material. I was expecting it to start coming loose, but it didn't. It has lasted quite well.


I feel you could get another 365 days out of these. That is how strong and how well this knit has lasted. They have been through mud, sand, bitumen, asphalt, concrete, rain. They've been through a lot of hard-hitting wear.


The Nike tick stitch logo is still in great condition after all that.



Fly Wire Section


How has the support system lasted? It has a fly wire section where the laces pulled together. They are still pulling tight holding up very well. All points of contact have maintained over that full year.



Tongue of the shoe

It just seems to be a singular strip of leather. When I tried them on for the first time, I found that the tongue was so thin, it just was not enough to stop the laces cutting into the top of your ankles.



They do have air bubbles on the tongue. But, I wish they had gone the other way around. If they did the laces could have been cushioned on the air bubble.


This actually hurt quite a bit. So, I’d get my socks and fold them down so I could

create a secondary layer. This issue lasted for up to two months. Every time I'd go ball I dreaded wearing these shoes.


They just missed that padding on the tongue. However, after two-months it started to soften up & the laces would work themselves into a nice groove. This was no longer an issue.



So, I am glad I didn't get rid of them straight away. Because for two months of discomfort, I was then able to get a good ten months of playing time out of them.


Midsole

It is fused itself strongly onto the outsole. The Air Max Bubble is still in great condition. It is holding and it hasn't pulled away. It has not been compromised at all.



Outsole

After I have worn them for 365 days, how did they last on the outsole? How did it go

handling the concrete, handling the tarmac, handling the asphalt and even the indoor hard courts?


The right shoe has done reasonably well. It has still got most of its groove pattern. Where you get to bend your foot, I’m making more contact on the floor and it is wearing out a bit.


I noticed the first sign of wear is in the outward section. I put some pressure on the outer sole. But it still hasn’t worn through.


One of the parts I didn't think I was heavy on, but now I realize I was heavy on, is the heel. I did not realize I stood on my heel so much. The heel used to have bumps, but now it’s smooth.


The left shoe has suffered every pivot, every spin move, every Dirk Leg shot. I enjoy stepping off the left leg for the fadeaway. I put a lot more pressure on my left foot. I have worn it down going beyond the tread depth and into the base. I have sheared this whole section flat.


The right shoe is in a lot better condition than the left shoe.


Heel Counter

One of the other points about this shoe that really has been a highlight for me was the Heel Counter. I had another pair of basketball shoes that were just soft on the heel. You could push on the heel and the shoe would just fold in.


After six months of playing in those shoes, I started getting bursitis in the Achilles tendon. So that was why my next shoe, really needed a very strong heel counter. It needed to have something to really help stabilize and protect my Achilles.


I found this solution in the LeBron 18s. It has a great Heel Counter design.


Final Thoughts


Brand new in Australia, these shoes cost $270AUD. I paid $190AUD. But after a year of playing with them, I would have been happy had I paid $270AUD.



Pros

These are extremely comfortable. Great cushioning setup. One thing that really made the difference for me, was the Heel Counter.


Cons

The one thing I found uncomfortable brand new, was the tongue. It was too thin, and it cut into my foot.



Recommended Shoe?

I recommend these shoes. I think these kicks are probably the best shoe I have had over the last five years. Distance for dollar I’d put these shoes at very good.


Would I buy these again?

Yes! Definitely!




6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page